Kinky or Straight? You decide.

There has been a hair craze in the African American female community and many are beginning to change the texture of their hair. What is happening? Everyone is transitioning to natural hair; wearing their hair straight from the root. No straightening products being used as well as no heat (until they’ve reached their hair length goal). Why did you go natural? I’ve personally been asked this question quite a few times followed by associates and strangers wanting to touch my hair. Let’s get a few things understood while we’re discussing this. I am NOT a new found creature roaming the earth and walking amongst everyone. Stop looking at me like I’ve done something wrong. Oh, and NO you may not touch my hair. I have no idea where you had a have been. So yeah… Thanks! I’m glad things are clear now. Let’s get back to the previous discussion. Is there a REAL reason for why you transitioned from having a glamorous relaxed scalp to untamed kinks and coils? You’re nappy now. How does that make you feel? You’re wearing your hair in its natural state of being thick and tangled and you’ve picked up the responsibility of spending more time to make your hair look decent. As the year continues I’ve seen more African American women change their hair texture than I have ever before…Including myself. It makes me wonder why everyone has gone through this change and what their real reason for “going natural” may be.

Well… It’s TRENDING! Thats why.

If thats not the reason then prove me wrong! Everyone wants the natural look.

There are 4 reasons why:

1. Getting to stage 4 of your natural hair journey and wearing your gigantic afro with curls that are to die for!

2. Gaining a new found confidence in loving yourself, your hair texture, and not being afraid to just be YOU.

3. Buying and using different hair care products that are sulfate-free, oils that add a little more moisture and smelling like fresh juices and berries.

4. Don’t forget the number of hairstyles that an be achieved now due to the hair being as healthy as can be!

Doesn’t it sound amazing?! 🙂

Personally, my hair needed this change. As an avid lover of the “creamy crack” (another word for a perm – chemicals used to straighten my roots and hair), I’m surprised that even I made the decision to stop getting perms and to start letting my hair grow from the scalp without chemicals. For those who truly know me, KNOW that I was in love with getting my hair permed and changing my root texture to relaxed. From there I would allow my relaxed to be rolled on hair rollers and I would sit under the dryer waiting patiently for the big reveal. I loved my curls during that time period, but I love my natural curls that I have now more. I had a problem with reaching my hair length goal and after a while the usage of chemicals on my hair tends thinned it out.  Say whaaaaat? That’s a no go! I can’t be walking around without any hair on my head. Thin hair is no fun. I had to make a change and going natural was one of the BEST decisions I’ve made for myself. Not only is my hair thicker and healthier, but I’m happier than I was before. Which is what matters the most. This is my hair:

  photo  photo 2

Whether people want to admit it or not your hair is a part of who you are. It in a way it defines you and your personality. In my opinion, if you going natural has helped build your character and you’ve found confidence within yourself after wearing and styling your real hair, keep it. Don’t let the media and non-naturals tell you what you should and shouldn’t be doing with YOUR hair. But if you’ve transitioned to natural hair for the hell of it and you just thought it was cute… Please dismiss yourself. Oh, and you might want to do more research before walking out of the house with your hair looking like who did it and why?

Natural-hair-struggle-pf

People who share this natural hair journey with one another call themselves “curl friends”. A cute play on the usual world “girlfriends”, but their all curly-headed now. To my lovely CurlFriends, love your mane and treat it with the utmost respect. Not only have to chose this lifestyle, but it too has chosen you. The more you appreciate your hair for what it is, the happier you’ll be in return. I didn’t forget about you relaxed individuals. For all of you that oppose to this “trend” and choose to stick with rocking your relaxed hair, here you go:

6 thoughts on “Kinky or Straight? You decide.

  1. I am absolutely in LOVE with this! You my dear have hit the nail on the head. It’s not about doing what’s cute, the natural “movement” is about embracing what God has given you. Keep it up, THIS.IS.AWESOME!!!!!

  2. I love it! it’s quite funny that you mentioned transitioning just for the hell of it, or because people thought it was cute because, when I decided to transition to natural hair almost four years ago, I knew nothing about the perks of being natural! I simply thought it would be cute lol. luckily for me, it was one of the most frugal, confidence boosting, healthiest decisions I’ve ever made. I definitely support the movement! love peace & hair grease! 🙂

  3. Love this! Going natural has definitely skyrocketed my confidence, and doing the big chop, definitely made me learn to love the parts of me that could no longer hide behind long, relaxed hair.

Leave a Reply

